## RED LAKE WATERSHED DISTRICT Board of Manager's Minutes March 14, 2002

President Dale M. Nelson called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. at the Red Lake Watershed District office at 102 North Main Avenue, Thief River Falls, MN.

Present were: Dale M. Nelson; Vernon Johnson; LeRoy Ose; Dennis Nikolayson; Lowell Smeby; Orville Knott, Arlene Novak, Accounting/Secretary Technician II; Sandy Radniecki, Secretary/ Receptionist; and Legal Counsel Delray Sparby. Roger Love was absent.

The board reviewed the agenda. A motion was made by Johnson, seconded by Ose, and passed by unanimous vote that the board approve the agenda, with the addition of Delray Larson, who requested to appear before the board.

Arlene Novak read the minutes of February 28, 2002. Following the reading of the minutes, Manager Smeby presented in writing the following three reasons he did not sign the Statement of Commitment as part of the Work Team for the Thief River Storage and Diversion: 1)"No" votes or opposing comments could have you removed; 2) No penalty for agency participation because of permitting requirements they have to have a representative; 3) Loss of local control.

President Nelson, in referring to the 'draft' minutes, explained that in going through the files it was discovered that a final payment hearing had been conducted for the Winsor/Hangaard Project in November, 1999. This resulted in holding back some money to work out a couple items with the township before the final payment would be made to Red Lake Builders, Inc. Therefore, another final payment hearing was not needed at this time.

A motion was made by Knott, seconded by Ose, that the board approve the minutes as corrected. Motion carried unanimously.

The board reviewed the Financial Report. A motion was made by Smeby, seconded by Johnson, and passed by unanimous vote that the board approve the Financial Report dated March 13, 2002.

Delray Larson, Marshall County Commissioner, appeared before the board for the following reasons: 1) he stated that a Ditch 20 meeting was scheduled for Monday, March 18, 2002, at the Grygla Community Center at 7:00 p.m. and requested someone from the RLWD be present to explain what is happening on the Thief River Storage and Diversion Project at this time; 2) he referred to the Court of Appeal's decision and felt that the RLWD should still do a full clean-out of State Ditch 83; and 3) he noted an item in the February 13, 2002, meeting minutes that he felt was in error.

Board of Manager's Minutes March 14, 2002 Page Two (2)

A motion was made by Ose, seconded by Smeby, and passed by unanimous vote that the RLWD schedule a final payment hearing for March 28, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. for the Greenwood 27 Project to Wright Construction, Inc.

Permits were reviewed by the board. A motion was made by Johnson, seconded by Nikolayson, and passed by unanimous vote that the board approve the following permits: No. 02005\* from Mike Ball, Copley Township, Clearwater County; and No. 02008\* from Robert Cournia, Fairfax Township, Polk County. \*With conditions stated on permit.

Legal Counsel Delray Sparby presented his update to the board.

The board discussed the City of Bagley Urban Runoff Reduction Project. It was the consensus of the board that President Nelson should contact the North Central Joint Powers Board regarding the engineering on this project and report at the March 28, 2002 meeting on their progress.

President Nelson informed the board that he was withdrawing his application for the position of administrator of the RLWD. Legal Counsel Sparby stated that, even though he has withdrawn his application, Mr. Nelson should not be a part of the hiring process. President Nelson agreed.

The board discussed the Ditch 20 meeting to be held in Grygla. It was the consensus of the board that Gary Lane would be the most knowledgeable to answer questions at this meeting. President Nelson stated that any questions regarding the Thief River Storage and Diversion should be asked at a public hearing.

A motion was made by Ose, seconded by Knott, and passed by unanimous vote that the meeting adjourn.

Signed

Dennis Nikolayson, Secretary